News & Updates

Department of Environment and Natural Resources issues Department Administrative Order No. 2021-39 Creating Metropolitan Environmental Offices in the NCR

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (“DENR”) has issued Department Administrative Order No. (“DAO”) 2021-39 creating four (4) Metropolitan Environmental Offices (“MEOs”) that shall operate within four (4) zones of the NCR: North, South, East, and West.


The area of jurisdiction for each office is as follows:


North Office

Kalookan City, Valenzuela, Malabon, and Navotas

South Office

Parañaque, Taguig, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, and Pateros

East Office

Quezon City, Marikina, and Pasig City

West Office

Manila, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Makati City, and Pasay City


The MEOs shall replace the four (4) field offices in the DENR-NCR created under DAO 2019-02.


The MEOs serve as frontline units for the enforcement of environmental and natural resources laws in the NCR and shall coordinate with the newly-created Environmental Law Enforcement Protection Service. The MEOs are tasked to coordinate with, assist, and enable local government units to comply with the provisions of the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act, Philippine Clean Water Act, and the Philippine Clean Air Act. The MEOs shall also strengthen the implementation of the programs, projects, and activities in compliance with the Writ of Continuing Mandamus for Manila Bay issued by the Supreme Court.


Pursuant to DAO 2021-39, one (1) Undersecretary shall supervise the four (4) MEOs, while one (1) Assistant Secretary and one (1) Director shall be designated for each MEO. The fulltime personnel of the DENR-NCR field offices shall continue to serve as staff of the MEOs.


DAO 2021-39 was published on 20 December 2021 and acknowledged by the University of the Philippines National Administrative Register (“ONAR”) on even date. It took effect fifteen (15) days following the said date or on 04 January 2022.